Somewhere a hill.

Somewhere a hill. Blossoms in green and gold and there are dreams. More than the heart can hold. It is a Monday and I go to the doctors rooms to have my blood pressure done. There is nothing wrong with me and I feel as fit as a fiddle. There is a new receptionist who starts giving me uphill as I haven’t got an appointment. However I box very clever and get away with it and wait my turn. Eventually I go in and have it taken. Tuesday and I feel fine and then on Wednesday I wake up as sick as a dog. How could this be? I have been nowhere which just goes to show eh? I stay like this at home for a few days, then decide I had better go and see a doctor. The system is like a rotation and my normal doctor has now retired so get a woman doctor instead. She has a good old look at me and decides I need to get into hospital immediately.

Luckily, my wife works at Cork University Hospital, so we drive there, or she does. She stops outside the emergency entrance so that I have a very short walk.Emergency entrance Then she goes to look for some parking. As she drives off I slip and fall on the tarmac. She stops and another man lifts me up and we carry on.Out of the emergency entrance a nurse comes out pushing a wheelchair for me to sit in. I am left wondering,’how the hell do they know?’ Anyway I refuse to use it and we walk into emergency where the nurse quickly takes me to a room to be examined and this happens. Then I go back outside to the waiting room and wait for my wife.Recption waitingI sit here in the reception waiting for my wife who eventually comes in from the parking lot. We are making small talk and she tells me the Hospital is closed and no visitors are allowed in. However a special case is made for her as she works here. Also there are no beds so patients are just put on the side and without a ward. Because of her pull we do not wait very long in reception before going through the doors on the right to be examined by another doctor. Also by some stroke of good luck but I think because of her pull here we find a bed in a special ward with it’s own shower and ablutions and I am the only one in it. I now officially have Swine flu, whatever the hell that is, and am the only one in the hospital to have it so am guarded well. Well, well, well, it appears that one cannot very well treat it as it is viral or something? So in the interim, they discover I have COPD and all hell breaks loose. I am immediately put on heavy doses of Oxygen and at one stage nearly died. You see I have been transferred out of my room and into the ward but one of the nurses does not like the look of me so transfers my bed to the right of the nurses podium which saves my life.

The long and short of all this is being me I have a belly full of all this and want to go home. They allow it ostensibly because of my wife. This is where this blog post becomes a rant as I try to come to terms with all this. You see all my life I have been a tobacco farmer and smoker until coming to Ireland. So find this all a bit hard to take. I keep on saying to my wife,’I thought I had Swine flu, so where does all this come in then?’ But they have an answer for everything, being, I more than likely had COPD before going into the hospital etc. etc. Good point. Anyway I am still taking Oxygen on a daily basis at home and realise that I am on deaths door, which of course the wife disagrees with but I am battling with all this and am still, basically, as sick as a dog. I also keep on telling her, ‘isn’t being deaf enough?

I am also on the site Facebook where I occasionally post about my troubles, but very few answer? Just lately however I have got a bit better. Am now not using Oxygen and going for a walk almost daily. Not far by normal standards, but for me, it is like doing a marathon. One also must remember that on the first day I tried this I couldn’t even make it to the first pub which is just around the corner. So my attitude has changed a bit and will give you how I think by some songs which I have always done.

 

And then the second one which also appealed to me and Julie Christie has to be one of the most beautiful women I have ever seen?

 

 

 

 

About spookmoor

I'm a 61 year old happily married man with three grown up children. I lost all my hearing as an eighteen year old whilst doing National Service and then had a Cochlear Ear Implant twenty years later. I love trying to explain these things to people and bits about my life. I never thought so at the time, but it was the best thing that ever happened to me. Thus one gets Random ramblings from a man who has seen a lot with a touch of humour underlying all.
This entry was posted in Culture & Society, Relationships & Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Somewhere a hill.

  1. frankiekay says:

    Glad to hear you are better, your friends on FB got very worried at times when we didn’t see you on there.

  2. Robyn Sumpter says:

    Glad to hear you’re on the mend, Spook!! Have you managed a pub crawl yet?? Take care!!

  3. Whoa, sounds like you’ve been through the mill. I’ve a friend with COPD, but she has to use oxygen all the time and ride a small motorized chair around. Keep hanging on!

    • spookmoor says:

      I have Oxygen too, but have managed to avoid it so far and only use under dire circumstances. Do you mean Nancy?

      • Nancy Hardin says:

        Spook (Kevin) I only use the medical mobility chair for outside the home, because I can’t last long enough without it. Here at home, I’m able to rest if I need to, between the kitchen and the living room, for instance. My COPD is complicated with emphysema, which means my lungs are empty of the little spaces (alveoli) that work to help us breathe. Without those, my lungs are just useless sacs, every breath is difficult. And yes, mine were damaged by 44 years of smoking. I know you will fight the good fight, Kevin! I’ve made it so far, (now in 2017) 20 years since I’ve been put on oxygen 24/7. Life is worth living; I’ve managed to see grandchildren and great-grandchildren that I never would have, if I had given up. Bless you, that you’re able to be off the oxygen for long stretches! That’s wonderful!

      • spookmoor says:

        Thank you and
        lovely to see you here babe,

  4. Tom Meakin says:

    Good to see you posting again. By the way, did you read the amazing tribute to Plumtree that was shared on the prunitians Facebook page

  5. Tim Savory says:

    Hi Spook so glad to hear of the progress. You have proved ages ago that you are well programmed to tackle adversity. I suppose all Rhodies and Zimbos have an advantage in this area. You know us colonials don’t like to intrude so don’t worry in our quite way,
    you are constantly in our thoughts and we are fighting 100 % in our minds for your cause. May you achieve the miracle recovery.

  6. Dawn says:

    Keep well, Spook and thank you for your blog. I always love reading them.

  7. John Morris says:

    Hello Spook,
    Take it easy and listen to your wife and family and all will be well. You’re on the mend now and that is the most important.
    Best wishes to you and your family.

  8. sue stolk says:

    How sorry I am to hear of your entanglement with ill health on the one hand, but on the other I am super pleased to hear of your journey towards good health … just goes to show that “you can’t keep a good man down” … keep it up !! I look forward to catching up with you soon…. Peace and blessings be your portion dear friend !!

  9. sue stolk says:

    How sorry I am to hear of your tanglement

  10. Maggi says:

    Keep walking (and writing) … and giving us music on FB. I am sort of allergic to doctors / hospitals and I work for two …. aargh the joys of life. Take care though or I will send our nurse after you

  11. Sarah Mellon says:

    Glad your walks are getting longer Spook – keep on keeping on. Keep on talking too! x

  12. Bugger to end up with this diagnosis- I think the swine flu sounded better. Maybe its a combination- and you did have some other bug making you feel extra ill. We all missed your banter-its just too quiet when you are not commenting- or giving us a chuckle. Keep up the good spirit, and do the daily exercises- walks- health foods etc.Supplies of oxygen are a good thing- they use it to treat many illnesses. Keep up writing blogs, laugh and enjoy each day to the full- and lots of hugs, and well wishes to you xx

  13. Phil Minnaar says:

    Hang in there big guy! Glad to hear you’re up and about.
    Ad Definitum Finem – Class of 1976

  14. Dawn Smit says:

    Thank you, Spook, I always enjoy your posts.I find staying away from doctors is the very best you can do for your health!CheersDawn Smit

  15. Lee Jolliffe says:

    Thanks for sharing Spook! Barry had a terrible couple of months last year health wise – took an age to get a diagnosis but luckily treatable over a two year period with horrible cortisones etc. (PMR – own white blood cells attack body) – anyway it is a shock to go from healthy to not and we feel for you. Take it easy, listen to your body and keep up the walking! (Enough from Doctor Lee!).

  16. Joy Lewis says:

    You are special sunshine. xx

  17. Brian Ford says:

    Yo Spookman, you are a tough ex Plumptree lad who went on to be a tough Gwebi lad then a tough Rhodie farmer. You got it in you to kick this shit out the door man.

  18. Eric van der Westhguizen says:

    Hi, Spook. Sad to hear about your illness. Thinking of you and I hope for a speedy recovery.

  19. Kiersten says:

    Hi there! This article couldn’t be written any better! Going through
    this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this.
    I most certainly will forward this information to him.
    Pretty sure he’ll have a very good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  20. Edie Pearce says:

    sounds like you are slowly coming to terms with COPD and even reversing it somewhat who’s is a plus….no oxygen….walking further…feeling better…starting to interact on fb once more….everyone feels anger when a sudden change in health makes them feel helpless and debilitated…but if you learn to adapt and apply positivity into your life. …it will become tolerable. .which it sounds like you are starting to achieve….please continue with this blog as it helps others in similar situations x

  21. Glad you are on the improve mate. Keep charging forward.

  22. Siobhan Sullivan says:

    Great story Kevin. Glad to hear you are improving. Keep up the walking and stay off the ciggies!!!

  23. Jake says:

    Spook good to see you writing again. Also great to see you back on FB more often. You seem to get stronger each day.

  24. davidac977D says:

    It’s not easy coming to grips with this stuff my friend but there really is no other choice. Well there is but it is called giving up and that is not really an option. You mentioned you are walking now which is wonderful. Keep doing it. It is not how far you walk, it is doing it regularly day in day out and getting to the point where you can do it and not feel wrung out. Following your stories, it is clear that you are no quitter. Life just throws challenges out all the time. You are a Rhodie, chum. Make a Plan!

  25. Mrs D Dean says:

    Sorry my friend. I think most Zimbos die early due to too much red meat and smoking their heads off. My whole family smoked, all had emphysema and all died. Bloody hell if only smoking wasn’t such a big part of our culture. I am really hoping you recover and have a good quality of life ahead. Take care xx

  26. Bar de Ness says:

    I knew you could do it. An eloquent and passionate piece – I was engrossed. You are a writer dear friend, and you have many more words to come.

  27. Craig Deall says:

    In our daily thoughts and prayers old friend . Keep up writing. Love it! I know we are far away., but is there anything we can do?

  28. spookmoor says:

    Well I wait with bated breath.

  29. nice one spook ….. spit it out bud

  30. frankiekay says:

    Glad to see you up and able to write! Keep on trying to walk to that pub!

Leave a Reply

