My friend Bar De Ness.

My friend Bar De Ness is just a short epistle on how I met him and on from there. Essentially I first got to know him on the bum marketing site Squidoo. I was new there and trying my hand at writing so spent many hours on the forum there. There was an avatar there which appealed to me and it was non other than the Bard alias Bar De Ness. Now the whole essence of the place was ‘ be nice to everyone’ and this was akin to waving a red flag at a bull for this bloke who prided himself on the exact opposite. Funnily enough he was very erudite and extremely funny with it as well ( in my opinion) and nothing gave him greater pleasure than riling up all the fuddy duddies.

And so from there it grew and I hasten to add he was always in trouble with the authorities and it became so bad they wanted to kick him out of the forum. However I guess he had some friends and eventually Squids gone wild was formed for him. A part of the forum which was slightly different to everything else and albeit one must still be nice to everyone one could more or less be oneself.

Would you believe it that from very small beginnings I actually became a Squidoo Angel which was a very special privilege, basically giving one the power to bless a lens and thus temporarily increase it’s ranking. Believe it or not I was a four time Squid Angel. Now a funny thing happened in that one of the Angels detested Bard and he got all the other Angels to gang up on him. All except of course for me who was the only one to support him. The long and short of all this is that he was banned. Quite what for frankly eludes me? Whatever happened to speaking your mind and being yourself? I genuinely missed him and found the forum to become more and more boring. The long and short of all this is I resigned from being an Angel, but now I found Facebook and lo and behold found my old friend Bard there under Bar De Ness. Nothing much had changed and here is a grand example of his work. What a gas man.

You see he is clever and erudite and nothing has given me greater pleasure than being his friend over the past few years. I could of course wax on lyrical for many hours but, he is a very private man, so it is not up to me to confide in many other things I know. Suffice to say he is a friend which I am so glad to have.

Listening to some music music tonight and found this and thought how apt.

 

About spookmoor

I'm a 61 year old happily married man with three grown up children. I lost all my hearing as an eighteen year old whilst doing National Service and then had a Cochlear Ear Implant twenty years later. I love trying to explain these things to people and bits about my life. I never thought so at the time, but it was the best thing that ever happened to me. Thus one gets Random ramblings from a man who has seen a lot with a touch of humour underlying all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My friend Bar De Ness.

  1. Bar de Ness says:

    You are a loyal friend Spook, and I don’t mean to make this a family affair either ,, so please forgive me .. 🙂

  2. Maggi says:

    Sounds so much like a girlfriend of mine Spook, and we need these people in our lives. I am blessed, I feel you are as well.

  3. davidac977 says:

    I was hoping for more, Spook!! You left us hanging!!

  4. Dawn says:

    This site has never allowed me to “Like” your posts. 😦

  5. Bar de Ness says:

    I’m delighted to be mentioned in dispatches here – and to be reminded of the banter on the Squidoo forums. Thanks Spook, and thanks for your friendship over the years. We sailed close to the wind, and our frigates were surrounded by far too many fair-weather schooners. 😉

  6. skyespitfire says:

    “Now the whole essence of the place was ‘ be nice to everyone’ and this was akin to waving a red flag at a bull for this bloke who prided himself on the exact opposite.” Omg, now I know where I get it from! What a funny read – Squidoo rebellion, Angels vs Bard, the rogue angel – would make a good sci-fi book!

Leave a Reply

