Puerto Banus, Spain,

Puerto Banus, Spain, our first day in Spain and a quick trip there after arriving from the airport.

10896911_10205390552394092_2476092595757513774_n

 

Now the most important thing to understand is, the old toppies here on this trip have not been together since 1988 when Bruce and Max  came to visit on my farm in Barberton RSA on their honeymoon. Shay and Steve were also staying with us at the time. My, but, 27 years is a long, long, time. What this really entails is, that it was an old Knobel get together of brother and sisters and the rest of us were just hangers on so to speak. Such is life. Now Penny and I have been up since 4am and I for one am tired. Anyway to cut a long story short in the afternoon it is decided to visit Banus and their famous Yacht port in Marbella, Spain, magic man, so many Yachts and this is just one small harbour in relation to the rest of the World. Ah the joys of having a few bob eh?

Photo courtesy of Max Knobel.

Wandering around the harbour, Banus, Spain.

Now if the truth must be known my wife was carrying the camera as she never took any photos, nor did anyone else as far as I can gather. So was left with no alternative but to download some I found on Google.

Banus 1

Now that is more or less how we found it. Fantastic and a lovely view of the buildings in the background. I was already so impressed with Spain from our drive from the airport along the Costa de Sol. So clean and fresh and more importantly all the women were so well dressed and the whole place was spotlessly tidy. Keep it up.

Banus 2

Basically then we are just wandering along the sidewalk looking at all the Yachts and true to form I am miles behind everyone else. Poor old Dad hey?Eventually though Steve slows down, or he just felt like chatting with me and we came across this or something like it.

Banus 3I’m mesmerised and say to Steve, ‘I often wonder where people make all their money from seeing as I never made a cent’? He says, ‘that’s the problem Spook, people like you and I are just there to get ripped off by everyone else’? So I say, ‘it always pisses me off having being a primary producer, yet everyone makes money from MY product except me’. Steve just laughs and says we are just suckers mate. Just then Jack Knobel Bruce and Max’s son rocks up and I ask him what he thinks of all the yachts. He says he’s not interested but, he does like cars, and I hate the bloody things. Each to his own hey?

BanusSo once again a splendid view of the harbour. Now it is time for tea or maybe a few snorts, so we wander off to find one. Following picture taken by Max and I’m almost certain this was not the place we went, but, it’s all I have so may as well include it?

10922881_10205390551514070_4993848114952400253_n So now it is time to go home and relax so one more photo taken by my wife of the in door scenery where we stayed and which Bruce and Max paid for everything. Thank you both so much. Tomorrow Steve and Shay take us to the airport to pick up my youngest daughter Siobhan whom Bruce and Max have never met before. How strange? Then onto Mijas which I called the place of the donkeys and where we had some lovely fun. Stay tuned for the next instalment or beam out, after all that is what free choice is all about.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

About spookmoor

I'm a 61 year old happily married man with three grown up children. I lost all my hearing as an eighteen year old whilst doing National Service and then had a Cochlear Ear Implant twenty years later. I love trying to explain these things to people and bits about my life. I never thought so at the time, but it was the best thing that ever happened to me. Thus one gets Random ramblings from a man who has seen a lot with a touch of humour underlying all.
This entry was posted in Culture & Society, Entertainment & Media, Family and Relationships, Relationships & Family, Travel, Travel & Places, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Puerto Banus, Spain,

  1. Max says:

    It was a grand week – as Penny would say!

  2. Maggi says:

    Good question how do people afford all those yachts ?????? Thanks for sharing.

  3. Bar de Ness says:

    Entertaining – as far as it went. I too wonder how every marina I come across is filled with luxury yachts. Here on my own doorstep on the Thames and as far away as the Philippines (not to mention those in the countless harbours of the Med? Who are these mysterious super rich? Presumably they have to employ and pay a crew as well – whether docked or not? Or maybe they are corporate assets and leased out?

  4. Jim Sinclair says:

    Lovely visit Spook. Hate to think we did not care. We do ! Love Jim and Ann

  5. Tess says:

    Hi Spook not your normal humour….but makes for a good travel guide…..thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

