Sydney and the iconic Opera House.

Time and time again I have heard about and seen images of the iconic Sydney opera

house. Now here I was in Australia visiting my wife’s brother and their family whom we had not seen for over twenty years. They were going out of their way to make our trip down under as memorable as possible. So we drove down from Canberra to Sydney and spent two day’s and a night there. On our last day there in Sydney, they took us on a ferry boat ride to get better views of the opera house and who doesn’t enjoy a spin on the ocean?

Sydney harbour ferry spin

Brother and sister together again

sydney ferry ride

Having caught the ferry at the Sydney harbour ferry terminal, here we are heading away. I’m in fine fettle as I met someone there (one of those incidents in life) who also had a cochlear implant and we had had a great chat. When my wife asked him if he was here by himself and he replied,“no, that’s my wife over there and she’s a b**ch.” Momentarily stunned, eventually we had to laugh. I mean really. The first time you have ever met somebody and they come out with something like that.
You know everybody was so happy but trying to get them to smile for the camera was hard work.Sit down, how many more do you want to take, give it a break man. Persistence pays off.

Sydney bridge and

Opera house just coming into view

Sydney bridge and opera house

Having come here from Ireland, to a major drought in Australia, it appears that we brought some ‘Irish’ weather with us. It’s going to rain soon. Great for Australia, not so great for us. You see the thing is, these are my own photo’s and we were only there for a day. So what you see, is what you get. I have to admit that I was like a little boy, trembling with excitement. To see this great building down at the bottom of the world. Something, really something.

The Sydney opera house

From the ground

Sydney opera house

After our ferry trip I still could not get enough of this majestic building, so everybody humoured me and we took a walk to see it on the ground. Very impressive.

Leaving the Opera house

We encountered this and had to stop

didgeridoo

Now I just love different cultures and walking away from the Opera house we encountered this. An Aborigine playing a didgeridoo. Now I don’t hear too well but with my cochlear implant I get sound and was able to follow this and loved it. Oddly enough so did my wife and we spent some time here listening to these haunting sounds. It may come as a bit of a surprise, but it is not just a question of blowing into it. Actually it’s an art form and very difficult to do. They use the lungs, the diaphragm, different muscles in the neck and done properly it is physically exhausting. Not only this, but they create different sounds by placing their tongue in different positions. Who would have believed all this? Amazing. And so, sadly, our trip around Sydney harbour ended. I have to say I loved it.

Sydney opera house

In all it’s glory

Sydney opera house

Actually this picture was taken by my brother in law with his camera. A beautiful sight.

And one of mine.

LEGO Sydney Opera HouseBUY NOW

Genuine Ohm Beads (TM) Product. 925 Sterling Silver Sydney Opera House Threaded Bead Charm. 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed.BUY NOW

Photo Jigsaw Puzzle of Sydney Opera House from Danita DelimontBUY NOW

 

About spookmoor

I'm a 61 year old happily married man with three grown up children. I lost all my hearing as an eighteen year old whilst doing National Service and then had a Cochlear Ear Implant twenty years later. I love trying to explain these things to people and bits about my life. I never thought so at the time, but it was the best thing that ever happened to me. Thus one gets Random ramblings from a man who has seen a lot with a touch of humour underlying all.
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sydney and the iconic Opera House.

  1. Edie Pearce says:

    so glad you enjoyed the two most beautiful Icons in Sydney, Opera House & The Harbour Bridge….along with a trip on the ferry 🙂 your story re your visit to both these icons hit a chord with Nev & I as we both feel the same way every time we visit them and have been fortunate enough to spend quite a few NYE watching the fireworks right there with our picnic basket and happily settled with family on the manicured lawns opposite the Opera House….it always makes us very emotional because our 1st NY in Oz was spent exactly that way ~ thanks for sharing your stories Spook, never get tired of reading them

  2. Judy Moor says:

    Love the stories so well told. You should write a book.

  3. bulldog says:

    Spook Moor, comes through once more… good to see you here… Loved this trip with you .. Spook are you going to be around a tad more now.??

Leave a Reply

