Raquel, voluptuous and so beautiful.

Raquel, sex symbol or just another beautiful women? 

Raquel first came to my attention as a young boy first approaching manhood at Plumtree School in what was then known as Rhodesia. A boys only boarding school and we went there for a term (three in a calender year), and we stayed there for the whole term without going home or visiting anywhere. Unless of course one happened to make a sporting team. Is it any wonder then that the boys LOVED the Saturday night moving picture? Then of course there was the added impact of censorship despite the fact that there were only allowed to screen all ages films at this school, some of the lads just being out of their nappies and all. Now for the life of me I cannot remember whether we saw the film or not? Whether some of the older boys just had this poster pinned to the walls of their studies or not? At this school the boys who had their own studies were allowed to have some

Raquel in fur bikini which launched every boys dream.

Raquel in fur bikini which launched every boys dream.

photos on the walls. Nothing provocative of course, oh no Sir, noSireeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. The boys at the private boarding school ‘Falcon’ were of course allowed more provocative stuff including, how can I say this dear Lor’, topless going on’s of and all. Now we were a bit slow living out in darkest Africa, so although this pose came out in 1966, we only saw it a couple of years later. However, the reaction was the same, a kind of, “oh Mummy I want.” Raquel sure had what it took to get boys, men’s, interest awakened. Now I’m not sure whether you are going to believe this or not, but, Raquel held no interest for me at the time, I silly you not. Sure, she had a figure to die for but what happens if you are a face man? Of course the girls are not trying to show off their assets, perish the thought? We are just trying to look attractive? Consequently, they all followed suit and the bikini was born? Again, because they were just trying to look attractive, after all attraction is everything? Apparently there is some Law about it, the Law of Attraction or something? Well you can fool some of the people all the time, but not this boy. In hurt voice, “tsuh I’m not a boy.” Then again I’m finding it a trite hard to continue writing this Moving Piece, as I keep on glancing over at the photo. Why is that? I have just had a distinct flashback to my Housemaster telling me one day, “Moor you think you are big boy, mighty big, but I happen to know,” then losing it, “YOU’RE NOTHING BUT A PIPSQUEAK.” Tsuh, I’m not a boy and if only I could find someone like Raquel to console me when everyone is being ‘horrid’ to me? But no such luck, not then, not now, nor ever. I’m crying Mummy.

Raquel when young.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Raquel blossoming as she gets older.

Now therein is the funny thing, you see the older Raquel got the more I found her so beautiful. I mean this primarily coming from being a face

What a lovely face.

What a lovely face.

man only. Honest that’s all I’m looking at here? For me she has a sultry look on her face here? Sometimes the chicks look even better when they are not dolled up, and just being more themselves? Primeval like? She hasn’t done her hair here and all and still she looks like every man’s dream come true. Notice I have moved from being a boy to now a man. So here she is like all women trying to look attractive again. Well I got to hand it to her, she sure does, being a face man that is. Which brings us all the way back again. Sometimes it must be very hard being a woman especially one who looked like her and in many ways it’s why I particularly admire Raquel. Here she was as a bombshell, the leading sex symbol of her time. The times were changing fast and promiscuity and doing your own thing were sweeping the World. With women like her it meant, shuck it all off babe there is a fortune to be made in this. Yet she resisted. I know she was married four times, I know she was in every magazine at the time, but, as far as I know she never posed nude. All credit to her, the pressure on her to do this must have been enormous. Perchance it was why producers were telling her ‘she didn’t know how to act’? So that meant she must show all which is acting of the highest order? I’m glad she resisted them and once again it must have been very hard going not that it worries me being only a face man. Now what exactly do I mean by that? Very simple to answer actually, as a man I never had an impressive physique being more bones than muscle. Consequently I KNEW I would never be able to attract the same in a woman. So I looked at the face, the character and the physique didn’t worry me too much, albeit had to be passable. Just saying. I also keep glancing right at this passable physique. Well, is it?

Raquel and films and moving pictures.

Now Raquel did close to forty films besides some TV serials and a short stint as a singer. Films like everything else are personal. Personally I’m not a big movie buff, and what appeals to me drives my wife around the bend for example. She cannot believe anyone would watch such junk let

oh Mama.

oh Mama.

alone find it funny. By the same token I think the same about all the junk she watches which I wouldn’t be seen dead watching. You see, it’s just a matter of taste. So I’m the type that likes slapdick comedy and Steve Martin and his idiotic carry on’s in Naked Gun thirty three and a third is right up my street, and I’m laughing my head off. To which she is saying, “what’s funny it’s pat’etic?” Ah, the dear old Irish and their inability to pronounce their ‘haitches’ sets me off laughing again. So anyway I’m watching that Steve Martin thingy and laughing my head off. He’s some sort of ‘eejit’ detective or something and he is looking for a bomb and Raquel is playing some cameo part as a presenter at the Oscar ceremonies where Martin has worked out the bomb is somehow going to be placed? Raquel is looking something like on the right and never, and I mean never, have I seen her look more beautiful. As mentioned earlier, some women become more beautiful as they age? Well for me anyway and I defy anyone, and I mean anyone, to dispute this as she is seen right. Then of course tastes do differ. Now where was I? Ah yes, Steve Martin is running around the place as clueless as ever and knocks Raquel over as she is about to present the prize. Riveting stuff, and I told you it is very funny which I’m sure you will all agree? Eventually all is solved and Steve Martin is the ace detective. He should have won an Oscar for this presented by Raquel?

Raquel getting older but still so lovely.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Amazon.com Widgets

 

About spookmoor

I'm a 61 year old happily married man with three grown up children. I lost all my hearing as an eighteen year old whilst doing National Service and then had a Cochlear Ear Implant twenty years later. I love trying to explain these things to people and bits about my life. I never thought so at the time, but it was the best thing that ever happened to me. Thus one gets Random ramblings from a man who has seen a lot with a touch of humour underlying all.
This entry was posted in Books, Poetry & Writing, Business & Work, Culture & Society, Entertainment & Media, Fashion & Beauty, Healthy Living, Topics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Raquel, voluptuous and so beautiful.

  1. George Azevedo says:

    Sofia was indeed a beautiful woman,and a wonderful actress,many a mans delight on a cold winter night.

  2. Maggi says:

    She truly is beautiful. I would add Audrey Hepburn as well, alongsideLoren. To me they were everything about femininity, beauty –

  3. John Morris says:

    Girl of every schoolboy’s dreams!

  4. James McClymont says:

    Classic beauty. Sofia Loren was another. (y)

  5. Tess Bold says:

    Interesting view point Spook…but even woman called her beautiful. Didn’t mean we where that way inclined….as you, yourself like to put it.

  6. lol Spook .. you reminded me of my years at Falcon ( the “private” boarding school” where as a young sprog, we had to clean and perform many tasks for more senior members of the house. This included, polishing and buffing up the floors endlessly with some vile paraffin based polish and a lethal square of heavy metal attached to a pole vaulter length handle of wood with a duster (cloth) under the metal head for shine. We had to do the passages past the fourth form and higher studies, which became the fascination of us younger sprogs with all the various pin-ups of the day exposing various amounts of skin. I being a leg man (as I am so short) was vaguely impressed by the voluptuousness on show .. but as I moved up through the ranks was able to procure some rather lovely full body shots with lovely legs of the likes of Luigina “Gina” Lollobrigida and Barbi Benton to name just two 🙂

    • spookmoor says:

      I hated the fagging bit for every Tom, Dick and Harry older than you too. We were not allowed pictures of topless women at Plumtree, perish the thought. Come on Fulcaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan in la, di, da, voice (winks).

  7. bulldog says:

    This woman was made to be hugged…

Leave a Reply

