West Cork motor rally, my experience

Motor rally in South West Cork.

Motor rally are loved by many people, but where do you fit in?

Are you one of those people who happen to love cars and speed? If you are then this is right up your street. But then again, what happens if you’re not?

For the time being I am going to shy away from that. I have been living in this area for the last 9 years and as such realise how much this does, the motor rally that is, for business in the area.

By and large those living in this area are largely catering to the tourist Industry and as such a large proportion of their income is garnered in the summer months. Thereafter their earnings take a big dip. This involves a wide variety of businesses from hotels, pubs, restaurants, newsagents and bed and breakfast.

Subsequently the West Cork Motor Rally plays a very big role in these people’s lives and is a great boon to the area. I have to go along with that and every year it becomes more popular and draws racers, family and fans from many parts of Europe. I stand behind all of that, but unfortunately, I just happen to be one of those people who have never really been interested in cars, and I abhor speed, always have and always will. Therefore, I don’t really enjoy rally time and will proceed to tell you why. Please read on.

Speed

To separate the sheep from the goats right at the beginning. Well not really just those who either like fast cars, driving fast, or those who prefer a more sedate form of driving. One needs to remember that this is a rally here and all other traffic is banned from the route until such time as it is over. So that seems fair enough and they can drive like maniacs as they can only hurt themselves.

However, I happen to believe that all it does is encourage people, especially young people to drive fast. That doesn’t make any sense to me because those who are inclined to drive fast anyway. Where are they going to practice, a race track or a normal road? Stands to reason it will be a normal road and this is bad, in my opinion anyway. Go on and have a say in the comments section whether for or against.

Fans have to use the road by my house

There is no way around it

This begins almost right outside my door prior to rally day. It nearly always starts with a couple of chippers as seen in the photo setting up for business the day before. Forward planning you see because the the coastal route is closed, because that will be raced on.

This great event is widely popular here. This years race is on at the moment.

Seeing as the scenic route is closed, the only way is here and it’s such a narrow road and with people trying to go both ways it becomes chaotic. Oddly enough tempers hardly ever fray, but people start taking chances. They have had such a battle getting down, they don’t want to go back up and there is no forward planning such as arriving early. So they park in your driveway.

Luckily the first time this happened, being a Sunday, I was at work, so missed all the drama. You see Mr. Hotshot in his 5 BMW SUV had the great brainwave to avoid this hassle by parking in OUR driveway without so much as a by your leave. He never parked across the entrance, he reversed into our yard, also effectively blocking off the pedestrian pavement, so they had to walk around his car somehow. Now my children who had got jobs working in the bars in Clonakilty couldn’t get to work. Because my wife couldn’t get the car out because ‘old hotshot’ was watching the rally somewhere. He’s so lucky I wasn’t home because whenever he did come back he would have come back to 4 flat tires ( by some mystery they would have started leaking air ) and seeing as he would have been in a great hurry to get away anyway, probably would not have noticed until a couple of hundred metres away. Now it’s his problem.

But women seem to have a better nature and my wife ( although furious ) just left a note under his front windscreen wiper, which read; ” I see your money doesn’t buy you any courtesy?”. I still would have let his air out. The cheek of some people hey! So now we just block our own driveway with one of our own cars. Hotshot can’t understand our thinking, so just double parked somewhere else this year. What a gas hey. Well between this type of incident and boy racers everywhere for a few days, perhaps it’s understandable I’m no great fan.

That being said, it’s still a very popular venue and really does do so much for the area. It’s just that I probably happen to be the only person, who probably does not enjoy it.

Blocking our own driveway, smart hey?

Blocking my entrance for the motor rally.

Blocking my entrance for the motor rally.

The Motor rally in photos.

Amazon.com Widgets

About spookmoor

I'm a 61 year old happily married man with three grown up children. I lost all my hearing as an eighteen year old whilst doing National Service and then had a Cochlear Ear Implant twenty years later. I love trying to explain these things to people and bits about my life. I never thought so at the time, but it was the best thing that ever happened to me. Thus one gets Random ramblings from a man who has seen a lot with a touch of humour underlying all.
This entry was posted in Cars, Trucks & Vehicles, Culture & Society, Education, Entertainment & Media, Hobbies, Games & Toys, Holidays & Celebrations, Sports & Recreation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to West Cork motor rally, my experience

  1. I do like speed, cars and motorsports .. I guess that is born of being such a slow sod on the hoof. However I do not like the “entitlement” expected and demonstrated by the younger (and older) generations of today. I do however accept and apologize for my own role in the perpetuation of this attitude, by being a parent that over compensated for my own children needs, as I (foolishly) wanted to lessen their suffering. I now know I should have let them “suffer” and learn lessons for themselves, for a lesson told is not a lesson learnt, but a lesson experienced most certainly is. As to the tosser blocking the driveway .. he/she is certainly very fortunate that some harm did not come to either themselves or their bright shiny expensive toy.

  2. frankiekay says:

    Mmmm – I hate cars, but I am a speed freak…although a horse can go top speed 42mph, its not the same as in a fancy car, or on the water…But I dont ever park in front of driveways – its amazing how many people do…letting his tyres down wouldn’t have worked too well – I let the tyres of a man who parked on the only ramp leading to the supermarket…I let them down just before lunch and he only left (according to the grinning hawkers) at about three that afternoon…hope he missed the braai.

    • spookmoor says:

      Well done and the nerve of some people eh? Hope he learnt a bloody good lesson, however I doubt it. The catering truck is already parked outside. It pays to be early and grab the best spot eh?

  3. Paul says:

    Give him what for I say! Looks a nice place there – I like the pastel shades of the house – very Irish. Reminds me of the colour schemes of Cobh – same county I think. I remember it was a precarious place to get to – steep gradients and all….

    • spookmoor says:

      Much obliged to see you here Sire and delighted with the visit. Indeed Cobh is just outside Cork city in County Cork and we are a little further. Glad you like our colour taste.

Leave a Reply

