Dog foul is litter?

Modern day politics.

I never used to give two hoots about dog foul but now consider it litter of profound consequences. Sis man.

By and large most of my life has been lived out in the country on large farms. The tendency therefore is to have down to Earth views and a conservative nature. It’s just the way things work when one is trying to produce crops and life with livestock of all kinds. It’s where the money is and because you are watching it on a daily basis. Cattle foul. chicken foul or is that fowl? Sheep, goats, pigs and I guess any other animal one can think of all doing fouls. Can we as people or farmers prevent this? I think not, it’s just part and parcel of animal nature. Wide free and open spaces, no paper, no plastic, nary a sign in site, but foul litter. Well here, there and everywhere. Watch where you step people.

Now people love eye catching pictures in the introduction and I must say that I agree wholeheartedly with that. However I ask forgiveness for not placing a picture of well, you know, um, er, dang, geepers, golly what is the correct most sensitive word for this. Hang on a minute, oh yes, dog foul. I just don’t think that would sit very well. So I decided to use a picture of the culprit of all this foul instead.

On the farm and in the City.

I was forty five years old before I ever heard anything about this. I was standing in the motor taxation office when this poster caught my eye and relieved an otherwise monotonous morning. I was truly flabbergasted, taken aback and then ended in a fit of laughter.

However since then I have been living in towns for the first time in my life and have a deeper understanding of why people get so upset. Furthermore I have also spent time landscapping Industrial estates, parks and many other places.

Let me tell you that there is nothing more annoying than getting this foul splashed onto you whilst mowing or worse still when you get the strimmer for the places that are too thick for the mower and little ‘ Tricky Woo‘s ‘ droppings get splashed into your face. Shudder.

But that is not the point. Because I’m a curious man, at times I have looked into strategically placed doggie litter bins, just to satisfy my curiosity. I have seen everything in them from babies nappies, empty crisp packets, empty bottles and some unmentionables, but never have I seen the remotest sign of any dog foul or poop scoops.

People and dogs.

The funny thing about all this is that wherever I have been since coming to Ireland I have yet to see anybody walking their dog with bucket and spade, or poop bag in hand. The Irish women love walking and often they have a dog with them for two fold purposes, for the dogs exercise and for security purposes for themselves. The men walk the dog as well, sometimes.

It doesn’t matter where this is, on the pavement or in a park or strolling through an University with their lovely landscaped grounds or taking a sneak through a golf course. The dog is a free agent to do his business in front of a delighted owner. It is particularily distressing when one has just had a load of this strimmed into your face and an owner will greet you with a ” lovely day isn’t it?” Then let doggie do his stuff just where you are going next.

Ring South West Cork.

Here is this idyllic scene for a lovely walk. However when you step off the tar onto the grass to make way for a car. Guess what you step into and when some poor chap has to strim it and have it splattered all over him then I can only surmise. Yes, dog foul is litter.

Finally, the last foul.

Given that I have taken a bit of time with this piece and possibly touched on a slightly taboo subject. The essence of it has finally got to me and so has the foul. Consequently I thought that I would throw in another duel, this time without the pistols.

Please try to remember that I went to a boys only boarding school, far from the madding crowd. This was on the border between Zimbabwe and Botswana and is semi desert and very arid country well suited to thorn trees and little else. That was it and you never saw anyone else apart from teachers until the term was finished and then you went home. Correction you did see other people if you managed to get into a sports team and ( sigh ) sometimes girls. For the teachers trying to keep boys occupied was a problem. However there was a weekly debating society ( compulsory ) but I just happened to be one of the boys who loved it, always have, always will. Therefore I like the debates.

Returning to subject, if dog foul is litter? Then surely it should be enforced. Should people carry on in their merry old way with not a poop scoop in sight or should the thought Police become involved and manhunts become the norm with everyone splitting on everyone else etc.etc.
Fine people walking dogs without poop scoops?

Amazon.com Widgets

About spookmoor

I'm a 61 year old happily married man with three grown up children. I lost all my hearing as an eighteen year old whilst doing National Service and then had a Cochlear Ear Implant twenty years later. I love trying to explain these things to people and bits about my life. I never thought so at the time, but it was the best thing that ever happened to me. Thus one gets Random ramblings from a man who has seen a lot with a touch of humour underlying all.
This entry was posted in Farming, Golf, Pets & Animals, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dog foul is litter?

  1. Bar de Ness says:

    How did I miss this post? Well written, well observed, and gently, diplomatically critical – but the bite is there between the lines. Excellent!

  2. George Azevedo says:

    I am flabbergasted by the essence myself Spook…Good read mate,thanks for the laugh.(once again).

Leave a Reply

