Racism, can it work both ways?

Actually reverse racism (against whites) has been rife for years.

Now racism is a very touchy subject indeed, but it actually can work both ways. This is a very difficult piece for me to write, because by doing so, I know I’m going to lose my Internet friends in droves. Believe it or not I’m actually proud of all the friends I’ve made here. However, if you are a real friend then what should it matter if you happen to see things differently to other people? As adults surely every one is entitled to a point of view? So here goes.I was born and brought up in a country where I have lived through all of this. But the most important point is that I always loved my country and I always will. All the different races and all the different colours, unequivocally, full stop. As in all places and in all humans, you get a bit of everything. Good people and bad people and all the in betweens. So who is ever to point a finger at any one else?I’d love to spend a bit of time trying to show where this comes from and how it began. I sure do hope people will allow me the time for this. What I mean is, don’t read this with preconceived ideas, rather with an open mind?

Racism and how it begins.

This then was the Matabele King, Lobengula, offspring of Mzilikazi, when the first white man arrived here on his journey from South Africa. Prior to the arrival of the Zulu impi brought here by Mzilikazi, this part of Africa was home to the Bushman. A very small, nomadic hunter. What happened to them? The same thing that always happens when one encounters a superior force. They were driven off.In time this offshoot who broke away from Shaka Zulu‘s reign became known as the Matabele. Fierce brave they were and fierce proud they were too. It was a subsistence existence, made more lively from sporadic raids further North into the kingdom of the Shona, who were no match for these warriors, but who had also decimated the Bushmen. Here the Matabele stole their women and their cattle and returned home. Such is life.

The white man arrives and trouble begins.

Here then is Cecil John Rhodes who left England due to ill health and went to Africa where the dryer climate helped his health. Whilst there in South Africa he amassed stupendous wealth at the Kimberly diamond mine and the Witwatersrand. An extremely powerful man and well known Anglophile who believed passionately in England.As head of the British South Africa Mining company, he was looking for new avenues to explore and his lifelong dream was to build a rail-road from the Cape to Cairo. He had heard the stories about Mzilikazi and decided to follow it up by taking a trip further North to assess its mineral wealth. Obviously he had scouted it out and a meeting had been arranged for him to talk with the Matabele king, Lobengula.At this meeting he arranged the rights to explore and mine the area with the complete approval of the King. Thus began the white mans foothold in what was eventually to become known as Rhodesia, Southern Rhodesia, Zimbabwe Rhodesia and Zimbabwe at different times in its history. He sweetened the deal by offering Lobengula certain colourful trinkets and beads.

Cultural differences, the way they existed.

great-zimbabwe-ruins

Above photo is of Zimbabwe ruins situated in Mashonaland and estimated to have been built and lived in between 1100 to 1450 AD. Big enough to house around 18000 people and built without any mortar. Great scholarly arguments exist to this day about who was responsible for building it.

By no means do I imply that the following is racist in any way. In the first few modules I tried to explain how I thought this came about and how many people perceive it even today. It goes something like this. When Rhodes and his first settlers arrived, they found a primitive people still locked in the Iron Age. These people had no written language, religion, education or anything else. Whereas some of the settlers themselves could well have been illiterate, they had behind them a culture, which by Indigenous standards was truly advanced. What do I mean?

I mean. Leonardo Da Vinci had completed his works and died by 1519. William Shakespeare had completed his works and died by 1616. St. Peters basilica was completed in 1626, St. Paul’s cathedral by 1710 and Westminster by 1870. Schools, Universities, a Bill of Rights, medicine, railways and ships. Need I go on. And of course various religions.

Westminster, and the first Matabele war.

 To the best of my knowledge the whites always left these people alone and worked around them as they did with the Shona in Mashonaland. However people are touchy and like to defend what is theirs. Accordingly the Matabele went to war and tried to surprise the whites and after being defeated they tried again at a later stage, this time with the help of the Shona. Once again they were defeated. Small odds overwhelmed vast numbers, due mainly to more advanced weaponry. Once again such is life.Westminster here in this photo was completed in 1870 and the Matabele went to war against people from this nation twenty six years later. It hardly seems credible? No one doubted their bravery for one minute and they earned deep respect for this. However the perception remained that they were sly and couldn’t be trusted. As each generation was lost to the next and life got easier for each one. People began to forget that when they first arrived everyone was on the same footing more or less. So a slow process began of thinking one was far superior to the other one.

Reverse racism.

R. G. Mugabe.

Now then here it begins with this man and his cohorts. I’ve said it before and I’m going to say it again, I was so proud to be Rhodesian and I always will be. Part of the reason for this is. We were one of the few countries in the world who never decimated our indigenous population. Despite the fact that we were quite capable of doing this. No, we looked after them. Admittedly perhaps we could have speeded up the process but then again, who knows?I’ve often wondered why the free world could never see this, or could they? One also has to understand, who was it who armed this culture when they were not capable of doing this themselves? Why it was the Russians and the Chinese. Of what interest could they have for them? Their free societies, their ideologies, these ideologies which systematically slaughtered over 100 million of their own people? Why should they want to help the black people, it makes no sense? Yet the free world fell for this and consequently ruined a perfectly beautiful little country in central Africa and a perfectly, beautiful people on all sides, white, black, Indian and in-between. How sad.
This then was the man who made reverse racism a fine art. He started slowly, flexing his muscles and built it up into a crescendo. He brought in North Korean troops to train his sixth brigade and when they were ready, he let them loose on the Matabele and committed genocide of the highest order, and when the people finally tired of him, he let loose his war veterans and set them loose on the white farming population. I had personal friends who were beaten to death in front of their wives and daughters, because they voted. Now seeing as your vote is secret. How did they know who he voted for? They didn’t, it was just another excuse to let loose his thugs again to preserve his power. The police stood by and did nothing.This piece  is long enough, but I have penned a series of pieces describing what happened in this country, that will chill you to the bone. I had a black farm manager and what happened to his son in that stupid war in the Congo will shock you all. I started this piece by saying that every country has good people and bad people and all the in betweens. Isn’t about time, all the good people came together and put this monster to bed once and for all. Racism, really? What about reverse racism?As it turns out we are not the only country in the World which has had to endure this. In fact it’s an almost endless list. Currently, sweeping America again, so have to add President Obama’s classic, “somebody else made that happen?” As always there are nuances in everything said. For example look at Africa and what it has been turned into now. Careful what you vote for people, you might just get it.
Now one has to understand that the Rhodesian perspective of things was almost the complete opposite of the South African one. Rhodesians believed that the blacks were not quite ready for government yet and more time was needed to bring them up to scratch. Whereas the South Africans believed in separate, you run your homelands and leave us to run ours. As matters have turned out a remarkable quote I read by a South African after the advent of black governance, the author being unknown to me.
  • We are sorry that our ancestors were intelligent, advanced and daring enough to explore the wild oceans to discover new countries and develop them.
    We are sorry that those who came before us took you out of the bush and taught you that there was more to life than beating drums, killing each other and chasing animals with sticks and stones.
  • We are sorry that they planned, funded and developed roads, towns, mines, factories, airports and harbours, all of which you now claim to be your long deprived inheritance giving you every right to change and rename these at your discretion.
  • We are sorry that our parents taught us the value of small but strong families, to not breed like rabbits and end up as underfed, diseased, illiterate shack dwellers living in poverty.
  • We are sorry that when the evil apartheid government provided you with schools, you decided they’d look better without windows or in piles of ashes.
    We happily gave up those bad days of getting spanked in our all white Schools for doing something wrong, and much prefer these days of freedom where problems can be resolved with knives and guns.
  • We are sorry that it is hard to shake off the bitterness of the past when you keep on raping, torturing and killing our friends and family members, and then hide behind the fence of ‘human rights’ with smiles on your faces.
  • We are sorry that we do not trust the government… We have no reason to be so suspicious because none of these poor “hard working intellectuals” have ever been involved in any form of “corruption or irregularities”.
  • We are sorry that we do not trust the police force and, even though they have openly admitted that they have lost the war against crime and criminals, we should not be negative and just ignore their corruption and carry on hoping for the best.
  • We are sorry that it is more important to you to have players of colour in our national teams than winning games and promoting patriotism.
    We know that sponsorship doesn’t depend on a team’s success.
  • We are sorry that our border posts have been flung open and now left you competing for jobs against illegal immigrants from our beautiful neighbouring countries. All of them countries that have grown into economic powerhouses after kicking out the ‘settlers’.
  • We are sorry that we don’t believe in witchcraft, beet root and garlic cures, urinating on street corners, virginity testing, slaughtering of bulls in our back yards, trading women for cattle and other barbaric practices.
  • Maybe we just grew up differently?
  • We are sorry that your medical care, water supplies, roads, railways and electricity supplies are going down the toilet because skilled people who could have planned for and resolved these issues had to be thrown away because they were of the wrong ethnic background and now have to work in foreign countries where their skills are highly appreciated.
  • We are so sorry that we’d like this country to fulfill its potential so we can once again be proud South Africans.

The Previously Advantaged

  • PS In the old regime… we had lights and water.

 

About spookmoor

I'm a 61 year old happily married man with three grown up children. I lost all my hearing as an eighteen year old whilst doing National Service and then had a Cochlear Ear Implant twenty years later. I love trying to explain these things to people and bits about my life. I never thought so at the time, but it was the best thing that ever happened to me. Thus one gets Random ramblings from a man who has seen a lot with a touch of humour underlying all.
This entry was posted in Culture & Society, Education, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Racism, can it work both ways?

  1. George Azevedo says:

    I loved the read but your Charlie Brown just says it all in three or four words.

  2. oh spook………………but I spose its good to keep it all alive…………….and we thought it could never happen here, too many balanced ous here. have you been following the Nkandla report? brave lady that! but nothing will change the fact that the ANC won them their “freedom” and they will vote the same way again. love to you all, Dianna and Daveydumps.

  3. Gomer Pyle says:

    Mmmmm … I shall refrain from venting on this subject…. I quite frankly don’t care anymore what people may or may not think — whether they perceive me as a racist or not is really not my problem. I make it my mission in life to ask difficult questions and get into the faces of the black people around me (in the nicest way possible way of course, I am never rude- perish the thought), prodding, poking, reminding, shaking the tree, asking how and why lying and thieving are such natural instinctive traits of the black people I know……tut tut … I did say I was not going to vent — suffice to say I am their constant reminder that they screwed up big time and tell them that they are incapable of fixing things … i then continue to explain to them why this is so….. all the time, enjoying the squirming and wriggling, embarrassment and inevitable shame that creeps across their countenances as the light starts to flicker on ….. this is live entertainment at its best.
    And so life continues … *a random thought* it took Europe, as we know it today how many hundreds of years to become ‘civilized’…? and yet we expect the same level of civilization in little more than a hundred years on a continent and its people who are still stuck in the stone age …. ask me if we made some mistakes … you bet we did, in my humble opinion…. but we can’t expound here … you will be banned for life on account of my sins …!
    Sooo, I have decided to add a lighter note to this debate….. thought it rather appropriate at this point in time …. If I have brought offense – please just remove the comment – no hard feelings …. but i enjoyed – hope you do too !
    BLOOD TRANSFUSION
    John, a lifelong white racist living in the East End of London is in a major car crash.
    When he comes round 3 days later in hospital the surgeon says: “I’ve got good news and bad news…..the bad news is you have had 2 pints of African blood and 2 pints of Pakistani blood”
    John screams “What the hell is the good news then?”
    “Your penis is 6″ longer and you are top of the housing list”

  4. Maggi says:

    So I loathe Robert Gabriel Mugabe – does that make me a racist ? I often wish my husband would one day write about what he witnessed during the 5th’s time in Matebeleland, but the nightmares after scare me. I am as Afrikaans as they come, my great grandfather was a POW during the Anglo-Boer War interned in Diyatalawa (Sri-Lanka) – yes he was an officer. He died 18 months after release, my grandfather only a few months old at the time. My family arrived on the shores of South Africa in the early 1700’s, a soldier with the Dutch East India Company. All they wanted to do was farm – nothing more. I am a direct descendant of Gerrit Maritz (Great Trek), and Manie Maritz (Maritz Rebellion) – very colourful I will admit. My own father was born in Marble Hall, schooled in Harrismith, did a stint with the South African Airforce, farmed in Swaziland before moving to Rhodesia, 1960’s, leaving in 1984 – Were they racists this bunch of farmers, was Jan Maritz my forefather and soldier a racist, I cannot answer that. I often think they were extremely brave, venturing out into the world with only the stars, a compass, wooden ships and finding a new world – that being Africa. I often wonder what they must have thought and felt, often up against insurmountable odds that would make most people of today run for cover. How brave all our forefathers were for giving us this, for striking out and without them and their history where would we be now today. I do not know, but all I can say is thank you to Jan Maritz, Gerrit, Manie without you who knows. And sadly these very people are ill thought of by an ignorant world out there.

  5. Great article Spook , enjoyed Thorn’s footnote , an interesting thing about the tsetse , it has moved right back to where it was before , towards Karoi , since the Swedes stopped there funding , so basically Zim is almost back to where it started in the 1890s

  6. Jenith Shannon says:

    I can’t help feeling that I just didn’t have enough spunk? to stand up and have my say. Perhaps I still don’t. Here I am living in the city in England where my father grew up, still feeling culturally removed while my father’s ashes are scattered in the Matopos, his spiritual home, I believe. My mother was distantly related to Alexander Forbes who died in one of the border wars in the early 19th Century, her family having lived in the Eastern Cape around Queenstown, Grahamstown and East London since then. If I have to prove my roots are in Africa, this is the proof. I agree with everything you have said, Spookmoor, but feel that I will die never having really fought for all these things I believe, and I can never enlighten ‘people’, because I just don’t have the talent or the fervour that my forefathers had, and I can’t get away from the feeling of disbelief when I keep telling myself I belong to this nation, that my mother’s ancestors were Scots and my father’s English, and they are so different and strange. Elison Sibanda, my friend and correspondent who came from Zim to stay with me and my family in Cape Town in 1996 once said to me, ‘Why did you leave Zimbabwe when we needed you? Things were good when Smith was our leader. How has the western world allowed the blatant injustice of Zimbabwe go on and on without lifting a finger? How could I have? There must have been some way to rid this world of this tyrant and monster who has displaced all remnants of sanity for so long.

    • spookmoor says:

      An excellent comment Jenith and your last sentence sums it up so well. Perchance it is because that is the way the world wanted it to be? Quite why I am still trying to ascertain. The more I find things on the net the more I’m beginning to believe it has something to do with a New World Order which is frightening and sinister and we were the trial run which made them advance from there? Look around you. Once more thank you for your comment and visit.

  7. Thanks you again Spook for your thought provoking piece and to all the intelligent comments left by others. I would just like to ask two questions of you. Are the Zimbabwe Ruins really in Mashonaland? As a Rhodie I am embarrassed to say I thought they were in Matebeleland and that I never visited them. The second question I would like to ask is, did we really have Aparteid in Rhodesia? As far as I remember Ian Smith also maintained that if a person, irrespective of colour, creed and religion, could aspire to anything in our country if they proved they were able to meet the required expectations of education, culture and drive. Legislated separate development is wrong, in my opinion, but if we look throughout the world, like gravitates to like. This is the natural order of things and here in the US there are pockets of communities that exist in most towns and cities, because people are comfortable with what they know and like and what to recreate an environment as a testament to their homeland. The fact that in Africa colour was added to the political rhetoric was the undoing of the immigrant populations. One only has to look to India and the caste system to see some of the worst discrimination against people existing in the world today, but nothing is said as it is not perceived as “racism”, but as a class hierarchy within one nation, which is rather amazing as the “nation” of India is made up of many differing “tribes”, but all of one skin hue. But enough of this touchy and delicate subject. Thank you again for your thought provoking post and your wise perspective.

    • spookmoor says:

      Zimbabwe Ruins are in the Midlands just outside Fort Victoria. Secondly you are quite correct about Smith in that the vote was qualified franchise and what this meant was irrespective of your colour you were entitled to vote if you had the correct educational qualifications. Simply put if you were white and didn’t you could not vote, however if you were black and did you could.The rest of your preamble is true as well, strange world we live in? Once again many thanks for your visit and thoughtful comment.

  8. msasa13 says:

    All sadly true. Two things struck a chord, firstly the final quote from Richard Thorneycroft about ‘affirmative action’ to protect the majority. The second was an incident with an Oxfam acquaintance, our daughters were in the same class at school. I saw her with another Oxfam at the shops, and one said that we (whities) had done so much wrong. Yes, I said, we made huge mistakes. Schools, hospitals, healthcare, agricultural guidance, without all that we would have been the majority. They couldn’t say a word in reply.
    This same do-gooder ‘adopted’ a black child of about seven or eight, he lived with them and went to school with their children, as a family member. Then in about 84 or 85, there was some trouble and they fled the country overnight. Did they take the adopted child with? Did they hell! Now that is one black man who has a justified grudge!
    Apart from despising Oxfam, I am fairly well adjusted! Thanks for another thought-provoking piece!

  9. Simon says:

    Spook well said On understanding us before the war we had MORE African as in ( Black ) soldiers serving than white
    Also in 1982 i was buying tobacco in Zambia and on a Pick up from the Airport the driver asked me Why can we not have Smithy back Before I could buy food, drink clothes for all my family and now I cannot buy food for my family

  10. spookmoor says:

    That in the end answers your question Margie. In today’s PC world all the lefties are bending over backwards trying to assure people that they are on their side. A funny thing happens in that when they move into the neighbourhood they are the first one’s to move out. Yet the assumed ‘racists’ stay and try to live together. Strange old world we live in.

  11. Brian Ford says:

    A great true story Spookman. So sad that the western world cannot or does not want to admit that what is happening currently in Southern Africa is what brought about the sanctions imposed on Rhodesia all those years ago. Reverse racism does not & will never be in the vocabulary of Western leaders as it is politically incorrect to imply that a black fella could ever be a racist.

  12. margie Kirby says:

    Thank you Spook…I hope you don’t mind I have shared this article on Facebook. You have writen this so beautifully. Bless you! Margie

    .

  13. Another long one, sorry.
    Black Africans NEVER owned any land. Any form of formal ownership is a Western concept. The ‘black’ tribes of the mid 19th century haphazardly SETTLED in an ad hoc manner – effectively governed by tribal savagery, in other words, the most savage ruled the land (a bit like Hillbrow today). They simply ran away until they could not run anymore – not having ANY grasp of the concept of a horizon or for that matter any measure of finite land mass – eg the boundaries – that is the fundamental concept of ownership.
    Who “disadvantaged” the ‘black’ people of the interior in Southern Africa before the (supposed) belligerent ‘white’ settlers moved inland in the mid 19th century..? As certainly, what the ‘settlers’ found was not a hugely advanced infrastructure, deep mines, airports, vast libraries of written works, grandiose institutions of learning, etc. No, as little as 170 years ago they found masses of black people (indigenous to the Southern tip of Africa, The San) living on the fringes of the stone age. Beings in skins, wielding sticks, living primitive dwellings, dragging and carrying things around, who had not even invented the wheel yet.
    Insert by Herman Griessel:- The San were the indigenous people of Southern Africa, if there needs to be any Land Reform it should be with the San, the rest of the Black African tribes as well as the White are and were all immigrants to Southern Africa, including Zimbabwe, and from other parts of the world and Northern Africa.
    The linguistic core of the Bantu family of languages, a branch of the Niger-Congo language family, was located in the region of modern Cameroon and Eastern Nigeria. From this core, expansion began about three thousand years ago, with one stream going more or less east into East Africa, and other streams going south along the African coast of Gabon, Democratic Congo and Angola, or inland along the many south to north flowing rivers of the Congo River system. The expansion eventually reached South Africa probably as recently as 300 A.D
    Ethiopia – a country that was NEVER colonised. Today one of the most desolate places on the planet – who “disadvantaged” the people of Ethiopia..?
    Put Zimbabwe and Germany next to each other and please explain the differences. In 1945 Germany was (for all intents and purposes) flattened to the ground and torn in half. Fifteen years later, West Germany was described as an “Economic Wonder”. Around the same time as the end of Apartheid, Germany was re-unified. It yanked the (unified) Germany back four centuries in time.
    Yet, in (around) fifteen years (for the second time in a few decades) it built an ‘economic wonder’ – today, fast becoming a global leader in almost every aspect. Reminder: a lineage very strongly associated with… WHITE AFRIKAANS SPEAKING people…
    Insert by Herman Griessel:- I am a third generation White South African semi retired Farmer, my Grandfather arrived in the Cape in 1895, having originated from Southern Bavaria Germany, and took part in the second Boer War (1899 – 1902), against the English off course. I disinvested in Agricultural Land in South Africa in 1994, 16 farms employing ± 2, 000 Black African people, I could see what was coming, and here it now is. Google my name Herman Griessel, and read my story of farming on the borders of Southern Africa from 1975 and onwards.
    On the ‘flip side’ – Zimbabwe – was handed one of the wealthiest countries in the WORLD (eg a currency that was worth more than the USA Dollar, etc) – what is it today..? Competing with Ethiopia to be the most desolate hell-hole on the planet..? Please explain…
    Quote from Ian Johnston an ex Rhodesian, has published a book “Thru Thick ‘n’ Thin, a must read, and who happens to be my neighbour:- Remember ” We won the land from the mosquitoes and the tsetse flies”
    And what he is implying here is that the White African Rhodesians, through the technology of the day, won back large tracts of land that was riddled with tsetse fly and Malaria, where before the Black African could not settle or graze their cattle, nothing was ever taken from them, in retrospect their very lives were enhanced and improved to the extreme in comparison.
    The below insert from just the other day March 2011, this is what Zimbabwe has come to, and no one lifts a finger.
    By Tariro Madzongwe
    HARARE, Mar 25, 2011 (IPS) – The identity of as many as a thousand decomposing bodies in an abandoned mine in Mount Darwin, 100 kilometres north of Harare, may never be known. “War veterans” associated with the ruling Zimbabwe African National Union-Patriotic Front party are removing them with no regard for preserving evidence.
    You cannot take something from somebody WHO NEVER HAD IT..! In fact, what is it that white people, specifically white men, is supposed to “give back” to black people..? Can someone PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE explain to me what it is that white men took from blacks?
    Money, Capital and the pivotal mechanisms of the wealth that allows you to breathe, eat, have children, live a rather healthy productive and fulfilling life, but also allowed the cognitive development that leads to metropolitan development and infrastructure as we see it today – it is ALL of Western origins. In fact, the key advancements in modern finance and economics were made by the… ….DUTCH. Why do you think it is called ‘Wall Street’..? It was initially ‘Wal Straat’ – yes my dear, the Dutch took their cognitive substance there as well… The same Dutch that were the most direct descendants of the people that landed at the Cape in 1652 – in fact, the modern ‘WEALTH system’ was originated by the Dutch and it funded the explorations around the tip of Africa.
    Mmmm… I just hate the implicit assumption that ‘whites’ stole from ‘blacks’…
    Author: J. Theron – Brisbane Australia – July 2011
    Insert from London Times: “South Africa is the only country in the world where affirmative action is in the favour of the majority who has complete political control. The fact that the political majority requires affirmative action to protect them against a 9% minority group is testament to a complete failure on their part to build their own wealth making structures, such that their only solution is to take it from others.”

Leave a Reply

